Hundred

Welcome to post 100. Yeah, my 100th post. Woot.nonawrimo
I really want to write something hugely profound but something tells me that’s unlikely to happen.

Scratch that. Yesterday I did something AMAZING.

Well; it depends on your definition of Amazing, really. I signed up for NaNoWriMo.  This stands for National Novel Writing Month and involves writing 50,000 words of garbage between November 1st and November 30th. The idea is just to churn out 50,000 words. There’s no editing, it will likely be a load of shit comprised of padding description instead of a decent plot all the way through and after editing (in December-March) you’ll find the decent novel STARTS on page 73 (of 175).

A few years ago I started reading Kami’s story for this and it inspired me to go back to writing. This year, I’m signing up in good time. I have a few phrases as inspiration (which I came upon as I walked to University this afternoon), and really want to start writing it now.

 

The rules suggest “outlines, character sketches, and research are all fine” before the November 1st beginning so I may be okay to type up my ideas. One’s my perceived first sentence kind of idea; but it’s basically the plot for my entire novel, so I’m going to write about it now anyway and map out some ways of building and key descriptive phrases. If that’s against the rules, I’ll state that I’ve done it so I can be judged fairly. However, as long as I re-word and expand on it, I think it counts as an “outline”.

From the NaNoWriMo Website:

What: Writing one 50,000-word novel from scratch in a month’s time.

Who: You! We can’t do this unless we have some other people trying it as well. Let’s write laughably awful yet lengthy prose together.

Why: The reasons are endless! To actively participate in one of our era’s most enchanting art forms! To write without having to obsess over quality. To be able to make obscure references to passages from our novels at parties. To be able to mock real novelists who dawdle on and on, taking far longer than 30 days to produce their work.

When: You can sign up anytime to add your name to the roster and browse the forums. Writing begins November 1. To be added to the official list of winners, you must reach the 50,000-word mark by November 30 at midnight. Once your novel has been verified by our web-based team of robotic word counters, the partying begins.

However; during this term (now to December 11th) I so far know I have to complete:

4 assignments (around 500 words each)
3,000 word extended essay
1,500 word essay
500 word summary
1,000 word report
2,000 word report

A lab report
An exercise
The last two have no current word-limit mentioned so far; though nearer the time I’ll be given them.  That’s over 10,000 words of academic writing and I usually go over the limit and then edit it to cut down the word count. Thus, if I achieved the full novel, I’ll end up writing around 65,000 words [depending how many of those pieces of work are due in November/early December]. 

I understand all other writers in this have jobs and activities they do as well, but I know that, according to my own limits, this will be a huge challenge.

 Wish me luck? I’ll likely add Word Count to each blog post, similar to my 5-a-day count at the moment: 5 days down, 9 to go!    [I had an apple and some carrot last night so got my full 5-a-day]

 Please also note that I’ve updated my blogroll: some minimalist, frugal and healthy living blogs have been added for your viewing pleasure.
 When did you last set yourself a challenge?

[reach for the stars]

~Rose

Leave a Reply

